Edit - @gifTalk posted a rule.
According to the USGA handbook, it would count as a lost hole in match play or a 2-stroke penalty for breaking rule 27-1
--------------
How would this be ruled?
Players hits a tee shot that has potential to not be found. He then hits a provisional ball that is ripped down the middle of the fairway.
When he gets to where the first shot was the ball is found and the lie is miserable. At this point is he required to play this ball or can he play the provisional?
The big question, what if he decides to claim that ball is not his just so he can play the much better provisional, although the provisional is laying 3?
This was brought up while playing yesterday and neither of us knew what would happen if somebody claimed a ball wasn't theirs just so they could hit the provisional.
According to the USGA handbook, it would count as a lost hole in match play or a 2-stroke penalty for breaking rule 27-1
--------------
How would this be ruled?
Players hits a tee shot that has potential to not be found. He then hits a provisional ball that is ripped down the middle of the fairway.
When he gets to where the first shot was the ball is found and the lie is miserable. At this point is he required to play this ball or can he play the provisional?
The big question, what if he decides to claim that ball is not his just so he can play the much better provisional, although the provisional is laying 3?
This was brought up while playing yesterday and neither of us knew what would happen if somebody claimed a ball wasn't theirs just so they could hit the provisional.
Last edited: